Woolworths Junior State Titles presented by Globe wraps up at the Southern Surf Festival

South Australia’s youngest and finest surfers gathered at Middleton for the final round of the Woolworths Junior State Titles presented by Globe on Friday. The event which formed part of the Southern Surf Festival was held at the bay in 3-4 foot surf which provided plenty opportunities for our young surfers.

Taking out the Under 18 Boy’s was Digby Tooze who in the dying seconds managed to find a bomb. Needing an 8 out of a possible 10 he was awarded a 8.63 to take the lead and secure the win. Grace Knight dominated the under 18 Girls heat with her highest score being an 8.17, she went on to win the third round.

Corey Taylor was a standout in the Under 16 Boy’s winning the final convincingly. Imogen Elliot stamped her authority in the Under 16 Girls taking out her third event in this division.

Chaska Glockner-Karoo took the Under 14 Boy’s division with young Maia Taite taking the Girl’s, both these young surfers have a bright future.

Our Junior State Titles are complete and our 2018 State Champions are:

U18 Boys Digby Tooze

U18 Girls Imogen Elliot

U16 Boys Corey Taylor

U16 Girls Imogen Elliot

U14 Boys King Cairns

U14 Girls Meg Day

For a full list of placings please head over to the Surfing SA website event page or download then here:



We would like to thank our 2019 Sponsors for this series Woolworths and Globe. The Junior team to travel to WA later this year will be announced shortly.


Round 3 Results were:

Under 18 Boys:


1.  Digby Tooze (Corny Point)

2.  Ruka Taite (Seaford)

3.  Harry Green (Seaford)

4.  King Cairns (Christies Beach)



Under 18 Girls:


1. Grace Knight (Yorkes)

2. Aurora Furbank (Yorkes)

3. Imogen Elliot (Seaford)

4. Stella Senior (Port Noarlunga)


Under 16 Boys:


1. Corey Taylor (Marion Bay) 

2. King Cairns (Christies  Beach)

3. Ed Tooze (Corny Point)

4. James Jervis (Port Lincoln)




Under 16 Girls


1. Imogen Elliot (Seaford)

2. Maia Taite (Seaford)

3. Meg Day (Yorkes)

4. Poppy Sweetman (Middleton)



Under 14 Grom Boys:


1. Chaska Glockner-Karo (Aldinga)

2. King Cairns (Christies Beach

3. Indi De Bono ( Nailsworth)

4. James Jervis (Port Lincoln)


Under 14 Grom Girls


1. Maia Taite (Seaford)

2. Meg Day (Yorkes)

3. Poppy Sweetman (Middleton)